Tuesday, January 20, 2009

Distinguished & Urban Scholars

(This posting was provided by Mr. Murphy, Director of Pupil Personnel Services.)

The Higher Education Student Assistance Authority announced its recipients of the Edward J. Bloustein Distinguished and Urban Scholars. Eight students from Woodbury Jr.-Sr. High School were selected to receive scholarships, which award up to $1,000 annually without regard to financial need.

The Edward J. Bloustein Distinguished Scholar is intended to recognize the highest achieving graduating high school students in or from New Jersey. Bloustein Distinguished Scholars must have a class rank of one, two or three and rank within the top 10 percent at the end of junior year, or rank within the top 10 percent with a combined critical reading and math SAT score of 1260 or higher.

Urban Scholars are renewable scholarships awarded to high achieving students in the state’s urban areas. Students must rank in the top ten percent of their class and have a GPA of at least 3.0.

The following Woodbury students were recognized: Stefana Burlacu, Megan Kier, Megan Pierson, Laura Hassan, Caitlyn Pipolo, Oluwatunmi Oni, Scott Bassler, and Christian Schoning.

Each student received an award letter in early January providing notification of this recognition.

1 comment:

Cheryl Kier said...

Very nice picture & posting, Mr. Jones! However, Megan's surname is misspelled. It is K-I-E-R (rhymes with tire & fire).
Respectfully submitted,
Megan's mom, Cheryl (I have been
"Kier" for just half my life)