Friday, January 16, 2009

Spotlight on Mrs. Introcaso

Mrs. Camille Introcaso

Academic Coach - Literacy

District Elementary Schools

• Name:

Camille C. Introcaso

• College(s) and degrees(s):

LaSalle University, BA in Elementary/Special Education

University of PA, MS In Literacy Education

• Work experience:

Philadelphia Public Schools; Various preschool experience; Collingswood Public Schools as special education, basic skills, and Reading Recovery teacher

• Favorite books
o fiction: anything by Ian McEwan (but this changes all the time)
o nonfiction: anything by Bill Bryson (same here)

• Favorite television show:

As Time Goes By - a corny British sitcom

• Last movie I loved:

Little Miss Sunshine, Atonement

• Music CD that I have almost worn out from repeated playing:

Paul Simon's - Graceland

• Person (living or not) that I’d like to have lunch with and why:

Randy Pausch, the educator and author who recently died. In the face of such tragedy, how did he keep such a seemingly serene outlook? Where did he find that strength?

• Visiting this place makes me peaceful:

Any beach, anywhere

• One item on my “to do” list that I can’t seem to get to:

Getting the family photos organized, but I keep taking more

• Favorite animal (domestic or wild):

Giraffe - they just look impossible!

• Favorite sports team:

Phillies, of course, and any team my kids are on!

• Destination of my fantasy vacation trip:

The Galapagos Islands - someday!

• Details about the teacher I will never forget who inspired me to enter the profession:

Mrs. Eustace -- she brought in opera recordings for students who had never experienced opera and made us feel her passion for it, she brought her class to a French restaurant to try French food (with the most inexpensive appetizer possible!), she discussed books and movies and places outside the realm of our experience and suddenly made them seem like possibilities, and she opened my eyes to the ways in which a teacher could influence a life.

• Anything Else:

Proudest accomplishment: My three children, now in their twenties, and making their way in the world.

Challenge I’m working on: I am a daily walker (four miles a day) trying to become more of a runner, but struggling to get past more than two miles.

Skill I will share with Woodbury colleagues: I am a great cook and baker (sometimes counteracts the effects of all that walking!).

No comments: